The Little Red [Christian] Hen

Little Red Hen 1

Copyright 1918 Expired

A Parody

Based on the Fable of the Little Red Hen

by Paul A. Hughes, M.Div

A little red Christian hen felt compassion for the lost souls in her community.  She believed the Lord was calling her church to more actively pursue evangelism efforts.

“Who will conduct an evangelism campaign in our community?” she asked the church leadership.

“Not I,” said the pastor.  “I have sermons to prepare for Sunday and Wednesday night.  I have the board meeting on Tuesday, and visitation to do on Thursday; and of course, Friday is my regular day for golf.  I have no time to spare for evangelistic work.”

“Not I,” said the deacon.  “After all, I am an important businessman with many pressing matters of business.  I must use my limited spare time to check up on the church staff and oversee the operation of the church plant.  Besides, if the Lord is calling them, they will come to church anyway.”

“Not I,” said the youth pastor.  “We have ‘gym night’ every Friday, and church softball league on Tuesdays.  There’s a youth rally next weekend that I need to coordinate — I still haven’t recovered from last week’s ‘lock-in’ — and don’t forget musical practice almost every other night.  There’s no way I’ll be able to do evangelism, too.”

Litle Red Hen 2

Believed to Be Public Domain

So the little red Christian hen began to organize and make plans for the evangelism campaign herself.  She bought literature and had flyers printed, arranged for office space and a meeting hall, and even purchased air-time for radio spots to advertise the campaign as the launch date approached.

“Who will go with me into the streets and public places to hand out literature, and to visit the homes in our community?” she asked her fellow church members.

“Not I,” said the church organist.  “The church’s music is my ministry, and I don’t feel called to do anything else.”

“Not I,” said the retired church elder.  “I’ve done my part.  It’s time for the young people to do the work of the church.  I’ve earned my rest.”

“Not I,” said her old friend Lois.  “I don’t know the Bible that well, and could never just go up and talk to a stranger.”

Little Red Hen 3

Copyright 1918 Expired

“Then I will go by myself,” said the little red Christian hen.  So she began to go into the public places and visit the homes in her community.  The work went very slowly, because she was all alone.  But in time, she gathered one lost soul, and then another, until finally even some of the souls she had gathered began to gather souls themselves.  At last, she and her new helpers had gathered a congregation.

The new congregation rejoiced that they had been gathered into the Kingdom.  “The Lord is pouring out his blessings,” said the little red Christian hen.  “Who will come feast with us?”

“We will,” said the deacon, and the pastor, and the youth pastor.  “We will, too,” said the elder, and the organist, and her old friend Lois.

“Now we will see who gets blessed,” said the hen.  Then the Lord came, and poured out spiritual blessings on the new congregation, and they came and ate them all up.  And the Lord said, “Well done, my good and faithful servants.  Enter into the joy of your Lord” (Matthew 25:21, paraphrased).

Little Red Hen 4

Copyright 1918 Expired

But there were none left for the deacon, or the elder, or any of the church people the little red Christian hen had asked for help.  And the Lord said to them, “You are careful and troubled about many things.  These others have chosen the best part” (Luke 10:41, freely paraphrased).

“For everyone who has will be given more, and he will have an abundance.  Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him” (Matthew 25:29, NIV).

© 2002 Paul A. Hughes

 

Leave a Reply

